Modest Is Hottest: Tips for Dressing Modestly

modest

Let’s be honest, in today’s society less is more. Walking into the women’s section of a store, you would be hard pressed to find anything that wasn’t a crop top, booty shorts, mini skirt, or a plunging neckline. Though these styles may be considered fashionable by the world, as Christians we are called to be apart from the world.

1 Timothy 2:9 says, “I also want the women to dress modestly, with decency and propriety…” Modesty can mean a lot of different things to different people. For example, some women believe that it’s okay to wear pants  and others think women should only wear skirts. Some women think it’s okay to show their shoulders and others think that it’s wrong. I don’t want to get into a debate on who’s right and wrong, so I’m just going to share with you how I decide whether or not something is modest. I find my way to be easy and I think you will to; I simply ask myself “would I wear this to church?” I ask myself if I would feel comfortable wearing whatever clothing article I’m looking at to church. If the answer is yes then I buy it and if the answer is no it stays at the store.

Of course, this rule can make finding something to wear extremely difficult and therefore I do have a few tricks up my sleeve:

1. Fabric Tape

This is one of my favorite weapons in my arsenal and comes in really handy with those slouchy necklines that want to slouch too low. Just attach a little bit of this double sided tape to the neckline of your shirt and stick it too either a cami underneath or to your bra and you won’t have to worry about the neckline slipping.

2. Scarves

Sometimes fabric tape just won’t cut it, in which case a scarf works wonderfully for covering up a neckline that is too low. Scarves come in a variety of materials and patterns so there is something for every season and outfit!

3. Recycle Old Jeans

One of my biggest struggles for dressing modestly is finding shorts that are a reasonable length. One of my favorite things to do is take a pair of jeans (usually a pair that I’ve ruined the edges of by walking on them) and making my own shorts. It saves money and I get choose whatever length I want!

4. Leggings

I love wearing dresses! Unfortunately, finding a dress that makes it past mid-thigh is nearly impossible for me. I’ve found that adding a pair of legging under a dress and/or skirt makes them a lot more appropriate and it’s a good way to transition my favorite summer clothes into the fall/winter!

These are just a handful of ways that make dressing modestly just a tad easier. Feel free to add your tips and tricks in the comments!

-Sierra

 


3 thoughts on “Modest Is Hottest: Tips for Dressing Modestly

Leave a comment